Creative Moments

My creative moments are often literally that. Snippets of time snatched in between running my daughter to dance, tossing in yet another load of laundry, and all the rest of the things that seem to fill my evenings and weekends. This past year, I’ve been challenging myself to try new techniques. So I’ve started a file of notes of ideas I’ve seen on other blogs. Ways to do something that I hadn’t tried. Different stitches, fibres, colours. I eagerly read the Quilting Arts magazine and others looking for something to try. So the other day when I found myself at loose ends for about a half hour, I scooted down to my studio/sewing room/storage area. I had read tutorial on how to create a background using roving. I have lots of roving, including a lovely new one with plenty of sparkle.rovingme.jpg

So I laid out roving in a pleasing to me landscape over white felt. Added sparkly white for snow. Covered with water soluble stabilizer and machine embroidered over top. I’m still learning/practicing my machine embroidery but it’s a great deal of fun and very practical. I’ve dissolved the stabilizer and now it’s waiting for hand embellishing. It is the size of an ATC but I’m thinking about attaching it to card stock and using it as a card instead.

Leave a comment